Blog Tour & Review | How To Make Time For Me by Fiona Perrin

I was sent a copy of this book for the purpose of review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. This post also contains affiliate links.

I am so happy to be on the blog tour for How To Make Time For Me today – please do check out the other stops on the tour.

About The Book

No-one said being a single mum would be easy…

Everyone knows that being a single mother means having no time to yourself. But for Callie Brown, its more exhausting than most. She’s juggling the needs of three teenage children, two live-in parents, a raffish ex-husband, and a dog who never stops eating.

The last thing Callie needs is anything more on her plate. So when she bumps (quite literally) into a handsome, age-appropriate cyclist, she’s quick to dismiss him from her life. After all, if she doesn’t have time to brush her hair in the morning, she certainly doesn’t have time to fall in love…

Funny, heartwarming and oh-so-true, this is a novel about motherhood, families, and life after divorce, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Allison Pearson.

My Review

I can totally relate to Ms Calypso Brown. A mum who never seems to have time to herself, I saw a lot of myself in her.

This was an interesting tale about Callie and her life with her twin girls, Wilf, her ex Ralph, his new wife Petra and various other characters including Patrick – or should we call him William?

Some of the time it seems like Callie is really down on her luck and you are really rooting for her to get her own back on people such as Petra who is so obnoxious, it’s unreal! You can see how little time Callie really does have to herself and just how much she does for others – and the opening scene is quite funny, to say the least.

I really liked the characters of Patrick and Marvin, you definitely couldn’t ask for better friends than these two and I loved Lorca and Lois, her parents – or should we say, her fourth and fifth children.

This was a great read. It was light but impactful and just what I needed after a busy few weeks.

About The Author

Fiona Perrin was a journalist and copywriter before building a career as a sales and marketing director in industry. Having always written, she completed the Curtis Brown Creative Writing course before writing The Story After Us. Fiona grew up in Cornwall, hung out for a long time in London and then Hertfordshire, and now writes as often as possible from her study overlooking the sea at the end of The Lizard peninsula.

Follow Fiona on Twitter and Facebook.

You can buy the book on Amazon {affiliate link}, Google Play, Kobo or iBooks.

10 comments / Add your comment below

  1. It sounds like you enjoyed reading this which is good. I need to find some books to read of the summer holidays.

  2. I love to read and always enjoy hearing about new books and new authors. We could all stand to take better care of ourselves.

  3. This sounds like it would be a perfect holiday read for the summer. Light-hearted but with substance and funny as well. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for this one for my next read.

  4. This book sounds like one I would absolutely love, I think I might have to treat myself. Plus, I’m a massive fan of Sophie Kinsella, I really enjoy her books and seeing as you said fans of hers would enjoy this I think it’s definitely one for me!

Leave a Reply