Update: Book Challenge

You really should be proud of me. In 5 months, I had managed the grand total of….eight books. I wrote my last update post just 15 days ago and I have been like a whirlwind since then, reading books here, there and everywhere. I am currently part of two bookclubs, the #kindlebookclub and Alex’s A Blogging Good Read which I think is definitely helping the process along and I’m also starting to make a dent in my to-read pile. I just have to prise myself away from my computer screen – the lure of Amazon, Ebay and The Book People is all too great.
Here are the books I’ve read recently:
9. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins    
   
By far and away, the best book of the Hunger Games trilogy. Entering the arena for a second time, you see Katniss and Peeta put to new tests and find yourself constantly wondering what will happen next.
                                                             
10. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
My least favourite – and it seems like I’m not the only one to think so. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book, just not as good as the two that precede it.
11. Thaw by Fiona Robyn
This is the book I read for the first Kindle Book Club meeting. It was a fairly decent novel, written like a diary, although at times, I felt guilty of prying – some parts made for uncomfortable reading. I was incredibly disappointed with the ending however, it seems like the author had an idea for the end and then bottled it at the last minute. It turns out others in the book club agreed with me.
12. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
Not her finest work and the ending was very predictable, but this is perfect as a light-hearted frothy, summer read. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Paige Toon and other similar authors.
13. Timepiece by Myra McEntire (downloaded for free from Netgalley)
Silly, silly me. I decided the book sounded good, researched a little more, was seduced by the cover picture and downloaded it. Unfortunately, this was the second in the series so I was a little bemused as to what was actually happening. As a stand alone book, I disliked it – but I shall read the first in the series before re-reading this to see if I like it any better.
14. Her Majesty’s Will by David Blixt (downloaded for free from Netgalley)
This book took me a little while to get into but once I was in, I was hooked! Set in my favourite historical time and centred around a plot around my favourite monarch of all time, Elizabeth I – with William Shakespeare and Christopher Marlowe as main characters, I knew I would enjoy it. Sometimes I found the pace a little slow, but I read over half of it in one sitting as I just couldn’t put my Kindle down! Worth a look if you are a Shakespeare fan and are interested in the plot to kill her.
That’s all so far, but I am currently reading Three Weeks To Say Goodbye by CJ Box for the Kindle Book Club and will be starting (and hopefully finishing) The Girl On The Landing by Paul Torday (my choice), The Secret Countess by Eva Ibbotson (Alex’s choice) and Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult (Char’s choice) for Alex’s A Blogging Good Read whilst I am away in Camber Sands.
What books are you currently loving?
xo


Friday Letters

As these seemed to be quite popular last week, I thought I’d try it again this week.
There is something so therapeutic about being able to get some words out, whether it be onto paper or onto a computer screen, that you may not say otherwise. I’m away for a couple of days in Camber Sands, so this post is scheduled – believe me, I need a couple of days by the sea! See you when I get back!
{source}
Dear Job,
I can rest a little easier now, knowing that you are safe – for now. Although I’d give anything to be able to stay at home and be a full time mum, financial circumstances unfortunately dictate that I must return to you for now. I know I haven’t got total job security and the rug could be pulled from under our feet at any time, but just knowing that you’re here for a little bit longer is a weight off my mind.
Dear Steve,
I’m sorry for being a total grump recently. This whole job situation has been playing on my mind and it feels like I don’t know anything about it anymore, everyone has moved on with their lives whilst I’ve been on maternity leave and it’s all different. I’m sorry ♥

Dear Runa,
I goddamn miss you. Your infectious laugh always cheers me up. Thanks for the horrendously long phonecall the other day – catching up with all the gossip was fab.

Dear readers,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’ve reached 300 followers and more – and it’s all because of you! 300 may be a little drop in the sea compared to the bigger bloggers out there but it means the world to me – Thank you. Be sure to enter my giveaway!

Dear Kirsty,
You deserve better than that idiot [believe me, other words for him are unrepeatable!] Enjoy yourself on your date with this other guy – I hope it goes somewhere.

*

Have you got any Friday Letters for anyone?

xo

That Was The Week That Was: A Week In Pictures

I haven’t done much this week, having a lazy week before the busy week ahead. We are attending Steve’s grandfather’s 90th birthday party today, so whilst I’m gone, I’ll leave you with my week in pictures. I’m currently using Photovisi to make my collages, do any of you have any better suggestions?

1,2 & 3. Jack enjoying his new highchair// 4. Mummy’s phone case is better than any teether!// 5. yummy dinner – haven’t had pasta for quite a while// 6. Poorly little boy sleeping and polka dot PJ’s// 7. Jack’s finger painting on Mummy’s phone// 8 & 9. Selling on Ebay…again

What have you been up to this week?

xo

REVIEW: Osmo Berber Oil Collection

I was recently sent the Berber Oil Collection (*) hair products in travel-size to review. I have given the products a trial run of two weeks to see how they fare.
Osmo are a haircare company, born and bred in Britain. They started off relatively small but have now grown to have a cult following and two, in their own words, ‘revolutionary products’ – Aqua Wax and Aqua Wax Hard. Osmo aim to push creative boundaries and pride themselves on being leaders, not followers.

The packaging is eye catching but simple. The browns, oranges and greys work with each other to make sure that you definitely take a second look. The products, carefully packaged in a sleek cardboard box, wrapped in gorgeous black tissue paper, are impressive in looks. These wouldn’t look out of place in a salon nor your bathroom.
Berber Oil Shampoo Rejuvenating Cleanser with Argan Oil(*)
The product is of a runny consistency, a deep honey like colour and designed to infuse the hair with moisture and hydration. I have used this product the most often out of the three, substituting my usual shampoo for this one. The website claims that this product:
  • Delivers enhanced radiance and intense shine.
  • Moisturises and hydrates.
  • Aids in the replenishment of vital proteins and essential nutrients.
  • Unique blend of oils combined with Panthenol to help strengthen and repair.
  • Used in place of my usual shampoo, this product delivered it on its promise. I’m still searching for that elusive Holy Grail haircare product but this comes pretty darn close. It left my hair shiny and soft to the touch. I’ve recently been a victim of extreme dryness and horrible tangles and the feeling left by this shampoo was amazing. After years of dying my hair and then raging pregnancy hormones, my hair definitely deserved this treat.
     I would definitely repurchase this product again –  it’s the closest shampoo to perfect for my unruly mane.
    Berber Oil Mask(*)
    Designed to be used as a daily 1 minute conditioner or a weekly treat, this product is thick and creamy in consistency. Given the choice of using this daily or weekly, I chose to use it weekly as my hair does not react well to being washed and conditioned every day. The website claims that the product:
    • Replenishes elasticity and bounce.
    • Leaves hair smooth and silky for ease of styling.
    • Helps strengthen and repair even the most fragile of locks.
    Used intermittently with my other conditioners and as a weekly treat, this product did leave my hair silky smooth, however it failed to deliver with its claims of elasticity and bounce – although my hair felt smoother, it still felt as lacklustre and with as little volume as before. I have weak hair anyway, but I also have to mention that I haven’t noticed any difference in the strength of my hair.
    Berber Oil(*)

    Another product with a runny, honey-coloured consistency is the Berber Oil itself. Using Argan Oil, the product claims to:

  • Helps strengthen and repair the hair for noticeable, more manageable results.
  • Contain UV filters for protection against sun damage and heat styling.
  • I have used this product the least out of the three, only using it for special occasions such as my nieces wedding and some drinks with friends. This product can be smoothed onto either dry hair or onto damp hair – I chose to use it on dry hair, usually also whilst I was in a rush. Although I haven’t noticed a difference in the strength of my hair, as I mentioned in my review of the mask, my hair does suffer in the sun and although we have had a lack of the yellow rays the past few weeks, they haven’t affected my hair as they normally would.
    However, I’m not totally sold on this one just yet, I’d like the opportunity to trial other oils before committing to this one. The only product out of the three I can honestly say I’d definitely repurchase would have to to be the shampoo.
    If you’d like to find out more about the products, you can find the website here.
    Osmo are also offering a 10ml sample of their Berber Oil free – you can find that here.
    The shampoo and mask come in 75ml or 250ml sizes, the oil comes as 100ml.
    You can find these products at various salons across the country, more information on where the products are stocked can be found here. 
    Prices range between £7-£22 for the products.
    What do you think of Argan oil based products? Are you a fan or not?
    xo
    
    This post contains a PR sample.

    Friday Letters

    {source}
    I’ve seen this feature on a few different blogs so I thought I’d give it a go and get out what I need to say.

    Dear Job,
    I don’t know if you’ll be there for me to come back to after maternity leave. I’m really sad at all the uncertainty currently surrounding everything and no one is telling me anything. I hope something can be done to sort out all our problems.

    Dear Jack,
    Thank you for brightening my days up with your smiles, You didn’t half give me a fright this morning – you’re not well and all I want to do is give you loads and loads of cuddles.

    Dear Sophie (little sis),
    When am I going to see you again? It has been too long.

    Dear Charlotte and Lulu,
    Where would I be without you girls?Always there to hear me moan! We talk about the most random stuff and sometimes that is just what I need.

    Dear Rachael,
    It’s so sad we only started talking after you moved to the US. I think you’re a great girl.

    Dear Jasmine,
    Thanks for inspiring me to write this feature. I’ve got so many reviews and picture posts to put up, but I needed to get some words down and your blog inspired me to write these little notes. Thank you.

    Dear blog readers,
    Thank you for all being you and visiting my little corner of the Internet – you will never know just how much I appreciate it.


    
    Have you got any little notes you’d like to write to anyone?

    xo